Most drawdown coverage treats low water as weather. This one is engineering, and the timeline is measured in years rather than seasons — which changes how you plan around it.
What the Corps is actually doing
Rough River Dam sits on karst — soluble limestone that water works its way through over time. That is the whole problem. Phase 1, a drilling and grouting campaign, wrapped in May 2017. Foundation conditions kept deteriorating afterward, which is why Phase 2 exists.
| Element | Detail |
|---|---|
| Phase 2 award | December 2025 · $320 million base contract. The Corps’ Louisville District release of 19 December 2025 calls it “a base and option contract with the total contract value expected to be around $655M at contract completion” (read 5 November 2026) |
| Total programme | Up to $891 million: “an estimated total project cost of up to $891 million” for the Rough River Dam Safety Modification project as a whole, in the District’s groundbreaking release of 21 July 2026 (read 5 November 2026). A separate figure from the Phase 2 contract value above; the two releases measure different things. |
| Groundbreaking | July 21, 2026 · Thalle-Bauer LLC |
| New outlet works | Control tower and tunnel |
| Cutoff wall | Driven up to 190 feet through the dam |
| Blasting | Periodic, coordinated with the community |
| Interim measure | Pool restricted to 490 ft for the duration |
What 490 feet means on the water
Five feet does not sound like much on a lake this size. The trap is assuming it comes off evenly. It does not. On a reservoir with 220 miles of shoreline, the surface area you lose is concentrated where the ground is flattest — the backs of coves and the heads of creek arms. Those are the first places to go, and they are exactly the water most anglers use to get out of the wind.
The main lake near the dam is the deepest water in the system and changes least. That is a structural fact about the basin, not a fishing tip: on a Y-shaped impoundment the lower third holds its character through a modest drawdown while the upper arms transform.
The fill schedule moved, and that matters more than the five feet
The seasonal rise now begins around April 1 instead of March 15, to reduce pressure on the foundation during spring flood events. Two weeks does not sound like a change worth noting until you line it up against pre-spawn.
Rising water in late March is what pulls fish shallow and pushes them onto the flats early. Delay that and the early window either shortens or shifts later, depending on what the weather does independently. Anyone who has built a spring pattern around the fill on this lake should expect the calendar to have moved.
The ramps
| Ramp | Access | Arm |
|---|---|---|
| Axtel | KY-79, about 4 miles east of the dam | Lower south fork |
| Cave Creek | WK Parkway west to Caneyville, KY-79 north, right on KY-736 | Lower lake · camping, courtesy dock, ramp fee |
| Laurel Branch | KY-110, about 6 miles east of the dam | Mid-lake, opposite the island |
| North Fork | KY-259, south of Roff | North fork |
| Peter Cave | KY-259 north of Leitchfield, left on KY-737 | Lower south fork · marina, lodging, ramp fee |
| Eveleigh | KY-259 north of Leitchfield; watch for the ramp sign | Upper south fork · single lane, no facilities |
These six are the principal ramps with published road access. They are not the whole list: USACE counts 21 boat ramps around the lake and KDFWR lists 19 public access sites.
Current lake level
Lake level: , read at (USGS 03318005, provisional).
Last reported ; the gauge is running behind. Check the source before you drive.
Reading not loaded. This block fills in from the gauge when the page’s script runs. Read it yourself at USGS 03318005, Rough River Lake near Falls of Rough (parameter 62614, elevation above NGVD 1929); the pool schedule is in the next section.
No current reading from since . Check the gauge: USGS 03318005. The pool schedule in the next section still applies.
Updated hourly from USGS and Corps data, provisional. The time shown is the reading’s own, in Eastern time. Nothing older than three days is shown.
Basis: the reading is fetched by this site’s levels function from USGS gauge 03318005 (parameter 62614, lake surface elevation above NGVD 1929, marked provisional by USGS), with the Corps of Engineers’ Louisville District water-management record for Rough River as the fallback. Both were read on 21 October 2026 and agreed within a tenth of a foot. The page stores no reading: the number, its time and its source arrive together or not at all, and the 490-foot figure elsewhere on this page is the Corps’ target, not a reading.
Email alerts for Rough River Lake: the sign-up for this water, and the place any ramp notice we can confirm from the Corps goes out.
Ramps and the published low-water figures
Eighteen launches, every ramp KDFWR lists for the lake (its nineteenth record is the tailwater bank access, which has no ramp), against what the agencies publish about them and the water. The short answer for this lake: no agency we could read publishes a minimum elevation for any ramp on Rough River Lake. The Corps’ water-management record carries the pool, not ramp elevations; the Louisville District’s own pages and its online lake-information map would not load for us on 2 November 2026; Recreation.gov’s campground pages mention a boat ramp and give no elevation; the state park’s page returned only navigation text. What is published is KDFWR’s note on ten of its eighteen ramp records, quoted in the table in the agency’s words, and one dated Corps statement: the District’s release of 21 May 2026 says that “As of May 18, only the Axtel and State Park boat ramps were usable at Rough River Lake”, and gives no elevation. Where there is nothing, the row says so. For the ten private ramps the road column condenses KDFWR’s turn-by-turn directions to the roads in order; the linked record has the turns. The reading under the table, when there is one, is the USGS gauge’s, feet above NGVD 1929; what a dock tells you by phone is current in a way this table is not.
| Ramp (access road) | Published low-water figure or note | Source (date read) |
|---|---|---|
| Axtel Ramp KY 259 S of Hardinsburg; right on KY 79; follow signs | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record carries no water-level note. The Corps of Engineers, Louisville District, in its release of 21 May 2026: “As of May 18, only the Axtel and State Park boat ramps were usable at Rough River Lake.” The release gives no elevation, and we read no later Corps release on this lake’s ramps. | KDFWR access record 74, read 2 Nov 2026; Corps release, 21 May 2026 (DVIDS), read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Laurel Branch Ramp KY 259 S of Hardinsburg; right on KY 110 to lake | Not published - check with the dock | KDFWR access record 73, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| North Fork Ramp KY 259 S of Hardinsburg to lake; follow signs | Not published - check with the dock | KDFWR access record 72, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Cave Creek Ramp WK Parkway W of Leitchfield to Caneyville; KY 79 N; right on KY 736 to ramp site | Not published - check with the dock | KDFWR access record 216, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Peter Cave Ramp KY 259 N of Leitchfield; left on KY 737 to ramp site | Not published - check with the dock | KDFWR access record 217, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| State Park Marina WK Parkway W of Leitchfield to Caneyville; KY 79 N to state park | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record carries no water-level note. The Corps of Engineers, Louisville District, in its release of 21 May 2026: “As of May 18, only the Axtel and State Park boat ramps were usable at Rough River Lake.” The release gives no elevation, and we read no later Corps release on this lake’s ramps. The state park’s own page returned only navigation text when we read it. | KDFWR access record 215, read 2 Nov 2026; Corps release, 21 May 2026 (DVIDS), read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Adkins Camp KY 79 S of Hardinsburg; KY 259 S; KY 401 N to Centerview - Rough River Road | Not published - check with the dock | KDFWR access record 71, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Eveleigh Ramp KY 259 N of Leitchfield; watch for ramp sign | Not published - check with the dock | KDFWR access record 218, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Brown’s Hideaway Ramp US-60 east from Hardinsburg 2 miles; right on KY-259 2.2 miles; right on KY-1740 6.5 miles; left on Morton Brown Road to ramp | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1111, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Cannon’s Point Ramp US-60 east from Hardinsburg 2 miles; right on KY-259 11 miles; Cannon’s Point Road in McDaniels to ramp | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp is very steep and may be unusable during winter drawdown.” KDFWR also calls it a private ramp with limited parking. | KDFWR access record 1112, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Cascade Acres Ramp KY-259 north from Leitchfield 7 miles; left on Eveleigh Road 2 miles to Cascade Acres; ramp on the left | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1109, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Fernwood Ramp KY-259 north from Leitchfield 10 miles; bear left to stay on KY-259; left on Lee Miller Road after 1/2 mile; 2.5 miles to Fernwood; ramp on the left | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1108, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Holiday Rough Ramp KY-259 north from Leitchfield 7 miles; left on Eveleigh Road 1.3 miles; left on Holiday Way; right on Holiday Landing; ramp on the left | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1117, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Indian Valley Ramp KY-79 north from Caneyville 8.5 miles; right on CR-1487; A. L. Whitney S Road; right on Duff Road 1.3 miles; left on CR-1490 to ramp | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1114, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| L.C. Likens Ramp KY-79 north from Caneyville 8.5 miles; right on Lahue Cemetary Road; Gibson Road; right on Duff Road 1 mile; left on CR-1491 to ramp | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1113, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Mangan’s Foxcliff Ramp KY-54 northwest from Leitchfield 6.3 miles; right on Duff Road 2 miles; left on Fox Cliff Road to the end | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1115, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Mill’s Rough Ramp KY-259 north from Leitchfield 10 miles; right on KY-401 2.5 miles; Centerview Road south 2.4 miles; right on J. M. Mercer Campsite Road; Mills Camp Loop Road to the end | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1110, read 2 Nov 2026 |
| Pine Ridge 2 Ramp KY-79 north from Caneyville 8.5 miles; right on Lahue Cemetary Road; Gibson Road; right on Duff Road; left on Shores Road 1.2 miles; right on Pine Ridge Road to ramp | No elevation published. KDFWR’s record: “Ramp may be unusable during winter drawdown.” | KDFWR access record 1116, read 2 Nov 2026 |
Latest reading against these figures: not loaded. The comparison fills in from this site’s levels feed when the page’s script runs; with scripts off, read the pool yourself at USGS 03318005, Rough River Lake near Falls of Rough (lake elevation, NGVD 1929) and set it against the figures and notes above.
No current reading on this site’s levels feed for Rough River Lake. Read the pool yourself at USGS 03318005, Rough River Lake near Falls of Rough (lake elevation, NGVD 1929); the figures and notes in the table still stand.
Lake level: , read at (USGS 03318005, Rough River Lake near Falls of Rough (lake elevation, NGVD 1929), provisional).
Last reported ; the source is running behind. Check it before you drive.
Email alerts for Rough River Lake · the time shown is the reading’s own; nothing older than three days is shown; a reading is compared only with a figure an agency has published, and nothing here says whether a ramp can be used.
Basis: 18 launches listed; 0 with a published minimum elevation; 12 with a published agency note on launching or water level. Every figure and note is the agency’s own wording, and each row names its source and the day it was read. A ramp with no published figure or note says so; nothing is estimated. The reading, when one appears, comes from this site’s levels feed (/api/levels) with its own time.
When the lake drops
The restriction changed the summer target, not the winter one. The Louisville District’s daily lake report for 15 September 2026 lists Rough River’s summer pool at 490.0 feet and its winter pool at 470.0. The seasonal levels in the Corps’ water-management system hold the lake at 490 until 15 October, bring it down to 470 by 1 December, keep it there until 1 April, and bring it back to 490 by 1 May. That is a twenty-foot fall in about six and a half weeks, and the gauge record further down this page shows the lake reaching about 470 every December since 2023. The current reading is in the block above, and at the gauge itself: USGS 03318005, Rough River Lake near Falls of Rough.
The Corps’ ramp sentence speaks to 490, not to 470. And two Corps recreation areas changed hands in 2026: North Fork’s campground has been managed by BrightSky Campgrounds since February, and Cave Creek’s campground has been leased since 1 March, with BrightSky running it for the lessee. The Corps’ announcements speak of the campgrounds; they do not say whether the ramps still count as “USACE-managed”. This is everything on record, launch by launch.
| Ramp | Who runs it | KDFWR season flag | What is published for low water |
|---|---|---|---|
| Axtel | Corps recreation area; fee ramp | Year round, 24 hours | Covered by the Corps’ 490 sentence. Nothing for 470. |
| Laurel Branch | Corps recreation area; fee ramp | Year round, 24 hours | Covered at 490; the FAQ also says the beach stays open. Nothing for 470. |
| North Fork | Corps recreation area; campground managed by BrightSky since February 2026 | Year round, 24 hours | Covered at 490 if the ramp still counts as Corps-managed. Nothing for 470. |
| Cave Creek | Corps recreation area; campground leased from 1 March 2026 | Seasonal, 24 hours | Covered at 490 under the same caveat, and KDFWR flags the ramp as seasonal. Nothing for 470. |
| Peter Cave | Fee ramp, single lane, no courtesy dock; operator not confirmed | Seasonal, 24 hours | Covered at 490 only if it is a Corps-managed ramp. Nothing for 470. |
| State park marina ramp | Rough River Dam State Resort Park; no fee | Year round, 24 hours | None. The Corps’ sentence covers Corps ramps only. |
| Adkins Camp | Single lane, unpaved, light boats; no fee | Seasonal | None. |
| Eveleigh | Single lane, paved, light boats; no fee | Seasonal (shoreline year round) | None. |
| Ten other listed ramps | Brown’s Hideaway, Cannon’s Point, Cascade Acres, Fernwood, Holiday Rough, Indian Valley, L.C. Likens, Mangan’s Foxcliff, Mill’s Rough and Pine Ridge 2. KDFWR does not say who runs them. | — | None. Call before you tow. |
| Tailwater | Below the dam; bank access, no ramp | — | Not affected by pool level. |
Season flags, fees and lanes are KDFWR’s own words from its access-site records for the lake, read 15 September 2026. “Seasonal” is not defined there; KDFWR does not say which months.
What nobody has published that we can read.
- A ramp-by-ramp list by lake level. The Corps’ FAQ says a listing of Corps-operated ramps that are usable at various lake levels is on the Rough River Lake Facebook page or the District’s Rough River Lake web page. The web page carries no such list, and we could not read the Facebook page.
- A fall 2026 closure list. None on any Corps page we can read. The Corps directs project updates to its Rough River Lake Facebook page, so that is the channel to watch from mid-October.
- A minimum elevation for any ramp. Not in the Corps’ water-management record, not on Recreation.gov’s campground pages, not on the state park’s page and not in KDFWR’s records, which give ten ramps a winter-drawdown note and no number; the District’s own pages and its lake-information map did not load for us (all read 2 November 2026). The table under the current level carries what is published.
- The state park marina’s winter status. The park’s own pages were unreadable to us.
- How fast the fall drop runs. The FAQ says the Corps is limited to lowering the lake two feet a day when it releases high water back down to 490. It says nothing about the pace of the fall drawdown; the seasonal levels above work out to a little under half a foot a day on average, which is our arithmetic, not a Corps figure.
How to use this. Read the gauge and match it against the table. At or near 490, the Corps-managed ramps are the ones with a published statement behind them, and the Corps has not said which ramps that now includes. Below 490 you are in territory nobody has written down for the web. The Rough River Lake topic on our alerts page is where we will post any ramp closure we can confirm from the Corps.
How to fish a lake that is not going back up
The useful reframe is that this is not a temporary condition to work around — it is the new normal for several seasons, which means it is worth learning rather than waiting out.
- Structure that was marginal is now visible. A drawdown is a free survey. Points, humps, ditches and shelves that sat under five feet of water are exposed or shallow enough to read. Mark them now; they hold when the water comes back.
- Cover moved down, not away. Wood and rock that held fish at 495 did not disappear. The productive depth band shifted with the surface.
- The kayak advantage widens. Marginal ramps and shallow upper arms are a problem for a trailered boat and an opportunity for anything you can carry to the water.
What we do not know yet
Two things are genuinely unresolved and we are not going to pretend otherwise. First, ramp-by-ramp status at 490 feet — the Corps points to its Facebook page for a list we could not read, and no Corps web page we can read carries one; it will change as the project moves. Second, how the delayed fill interacts with a warm or cold spring, which is the difference between a compressed pre-spawn and a normal one arriving late. Both get updated here as they firm up.
What the record says
Three years of gauge readings, laid out by month, show the shape of this lake more clearly than any schedule does. Median pool elevation at USGS 03318005, by year:
| Year | Jan | Mar | May | Jul | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | — | — | — | — | 489.7 | 489.2 | 476.4 | 470.3 |
| 2024 | 479.0 | 470.9 | 499.2 | 490.9 | 489.9 | 489.3 | 478.8 | 472.1 |
| 2025 | 485.1 | 511.8 | 505.2 | 499.4 | 490.5 | 489.8 | 473.8 | 470.5 |
| 2026 | 470.6 | 473.7 | 474.1 | 505.1 | 490.3 | — | — | — |
One thing repeats in every year of record: the lake sits between 489 and 491 feet through August, September and October, and then falls. November is the month the floor drops — 476, 479, 474 — and by December it is at about 470. That is a twenty-foot fall inside eight weeks, every year, and it is the single most important thing to know before you plan an autumn trip here.
The spring half of the record does not repeat. 2025 ran high and early, over 500 feet by March. 2026 ran low and stayed low, 470 to 474 from January through May, which is consistent with the dam project holding the lake down rather than with the weather. Do not plan a spring here off last spring.
Where the state has put cover
KDFWR has sunk and mapped 95 fish attractors in Rough River — more than any other water in this guide — and publishes the coordinates. Eight groups:
| Cluster centre | Count | What is down there |
|---|---|---|
| 37.6176, −86.4588 | 35 | 24 brush, 6 pallet stacks, 5 Christmas trees |
| 37.5700, −86.4934 | 25 | 20 Christmas trees, 3 plastic, 2 spool |
| 37.6308, −86.4255 | 15 | 9 Christmas trees, 6 brush |
| 37.5607, −86.3932 | 9 | 9 plastic |
| 37.6038, −86.5029 | 6 | 5 brush, 1 Christmas trees |
| 37.5783, −86.4667 | 3 | 2 mixed, 1 brush |
Two singles sit apart from those, at 37.5614, −86.3509 and 37.5916, −86.4735. Note what the material tells you: Christmas trees are the cheapest structure and the shortest lived, plastic and pallet the longest. A cluster of twenty trees is a different proposition five years after it went down than in its first season. KDFWR publishes the full list as a GPX file — Rough_River_Lake.gpx, from the agency’s attractor index. Take it from them so you have the current version.
Upcoming tournaments on this water
Filed or published by the organisers; each row is the organiser’s own wording, read on the date shown, and a closed or youth event still tells you when the ramp will be busy. Confirm the date, the ramp and the entry with the organiser before you go. The full calendar is at Tournaments.
- 8 Nov 2026Renegade Coed Division 1 Twin LakesRenegade Bass TournamentsRough River, State Park (as printed by the organiser) · 7 AM to 2:30 PM CSTSpecies not stated · Coed division; team or individual not statedEntry fee: not stated (read 28 Oct 2026)Organiser’s details as published, read 28 Oct 2026 · Organiser’s page
- 5 Dec 2026KY Crappie TrailKentucky Crappie TrailState Park Marina · 6:00 AM to 2:00 PMCrappie · Closed TournamentEntry fee: not stated (read 28 Oct 2026)Organiser’s details as published, read 28 Oct 2026 · Organiser’s KDFWR filing
- 6 Mar 2027KY Crappie TrailKentucky Crappie TrailState Park Marina · 6:00 AM to 3:00 PMCrappie · Closed TournamentEntry fee: not stated (read 28 Oct 2026)Organiser’s details as published, read 28 Oct 2026 · Organiser’s KDFWR filing
- 24 Apr 2027NTBA Flag DivisionAnglers Outpost NTBA DivisionState Park Marina · 6:00 AM to 2:00 PMBlack bass · Open Tournament; team trailEntry fee: not stated (read 28 Oct 2026)Organiser’s details as published, read 28 Oct 2026 · Organiser’s KDFWR filing
Sources and how confident we are
Sources: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Louisville District — Rough River Dam Safety Modification Project and its FAQ (read 15 September 2026), for project scope, the 490-foot ramp statement and the Phase 1 and Phase 2 timeline; the District’s daily lake report (15 September 2026) and the seasonal pool levels in the Corps’ water-management data (CWMS), for summer and winter pool and the dates between them; the District’s February 2026 announcements on North Fork and Cave Creek campground management. Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources access-site records for the lake (waterbody 72), for fees, lanes and season flags. Public access listings for ramp locations and lake configuration. USGS gauge 03318005, Rough River Lake near Falls of Rough — parameter 62614, lake or reservoir water surface elevation above NGVD 1929. Note that USGS 03318010 is the tailwater gauge below the dam: it reports gage height and discharge, never pool level. The Current lake level block is filled by this site’s levels function from the USGS water-data API (api.waterdata.usgs.gov, latest-continuous collection), parameter 62614, provisional, with the Corps’ Louisville District water-management record for Rough River (water.usace.army.mil, elevation, NGVD 1929) as the fallback. The function no longer calls USGS’s older WaterServices service: its home page (read 7 November 2026) states “WaterServices will be permanently shut down on February 22nd, 2027” and “Users must migrate to https://api.waterdata.usgs.gov.” On 21 October 2026 the new API, that older service and the Corps record were read together and agreed within a tenth of a foot. The ramps table under the current level (read 2 November 2026): KDFWR access-site records 71–74, 215–218 and 1108–1117 for waterbody 72, for ramp names, roads and the winter-drawdown notes; the Corps of Engineers, Louisville District, release of 21 May 2026, “Spring drought contributes to lower lake levels across Kentucky” (republished by DVIDS), for the 18 May ramp statement; the Corps’ water-management record for Rough River Lake (water.usace.army.mil, NGVD29) and Recreation.gov’s Rough River Lake gateway with its Laurel Branch, North Fork and Cave Creek campground pages, none of which, as read that day, gave a ramp elevation; the District’s own pages, its online lake-information map and the state park’s page returned nothing we could read on ramps that day. Verify conditions before travelling.
