A fishing kayak leaves the shop as a hull and a seat. What makes it a fishing boat is bolted, tracked or bungeed on afterwards, and most of it comes down to three questions: where the rods go, how the boat stops, and where the gear stays dry. Behind those sits a fourth that is not optional on a Kentucky creek: what the law says has to be aboard. This page takes the hardware from the makers' own pages and the law from the regulation's own text, with the date it took effect. Where a statement is this site's own rather than a maker's or an agency's, it is labelled editorial.
Start here
If you want the law first, skip to **What Kentucky requires aboard a kayak**: one wearable life jacket per person, a white light carried and ready between sunset and sunrise, and a sound signal, with the caveat printed there about which rule the whistle actually comes from. A paddle or pedal kayak is not registered in Kentucky, and **Registration** quotes the statute that says why, and what changes the moment a trolling motor goes on.
If you are rigging, the order on this page is the order most anglers do it in: rod holders first, then a way to stop the boat, then storage. Each section gives what the makers say about their own hardware and leaves placement, which no maker page in front of us settles, as a short editorial note. If you are choosing the hull itself, **Sit-on-top or sit-inside** is near the end, with one maker's trade-offs quoted rather than a verdict.
Two of the floats on this site that put a kayak in moving water are Elkhorn Creek and the Upper Salt River. The anchoring sections below are written with those in mind.
Rod holders: three ways to mount one
There are three mounting systems in front of us, and the choice is mostly about holes. A flush mount drops the holder into the deck. A deck or surface mount bolts a base on top of it, or on the side of a gunwale. A track mount slides a base along a rail and drills nothing. Each maker describes its own hardware; what none of them does is tell you where on the boat to put it.
Flush and surface mounts (Scotty). Scotty sells a post-mount system: the rod holder has a post, and the post drops into whichever base you have installed. Its 344 Round Flush Deck Mount has a "Sealed base for watertight applications (such as kayak decks)," "Includes splash cover," and is "For all Scotty post mount rod holders." Its 241L Locking Side Deck Mount "Allows mounting on a flat surface or on the side of a gunnel or transom," is again "For all Scotty post mount rod holders," and uses Scotty's "lock-down" system: pick the direction you will fish, then push "the post straight down into the mount." One hardware note from the 241L page: "This mount is not compatible with our 132 Mounting Rivets, however it is compatible with 133 Well Nut Mounting Kits." Which fastener suits a deck you cannot reach behind is not stated on the page, so read Scotty's mounting specs for the base you choose before drilling (editorial). Scotty's page gives the 344's mount diameter as 3 3/4 in and its bolt pattern as 2 3/16 by 2 3/16 in; the hole size to cut for it is on a separate Scotty specs sheet not read for this page, so it is Status pending here.
Surface or flush, one base (RAILBLAZA). RAILBLAZA's StarPort "can be used as a deck or a flush mount," and "locks in anything with a RAILBLAZA accessory - rod holders, camera arms, bait boards, GPS mounts." On sealing: "You can surface-mount it or add the optional gasket for a splash of waterproof sealing." The page lists what ships with it as a "StarPort Assembly" and "Stainless Hardware," and says it "Comes with gasket and cap." RAILBLAZA's full installation sheet was not read for this page.
Track mounts (Scotty and YakAttack). A track is a slotted rail, factory-moulded into many fishing kayaks or bolted on. Scotty's 438 Gear-Head Track Adapter "quickly slides into place and locks down your post mounted Scotty rod holders and accessories," lets you "adjust it to any vertical or horizontal position without having to drill permanent mounting holes," and is "Designed to fit all kayak track systems." YakAttack's Omega Pro rod holder sits on what YakAttack calls its LockNLoad base, which attaches "quickly and easily with a single MightyBolt" and has "3 modes: locked, adjustment, and removal": "From locked mode, simply squeeze a lever to go into adjustment mode," in which "the mount can be rotated in any direction, but cannot be removed," and to take it off you "flip the lever out, and the system easily slides off of the track mount." YakAttack lists it as "Compatible with YakAttack MightyMount's, GearTrac, and most other kayak track systems" including those "from Scotty Fishing Products, RAM Mounts, and YakGear," with the note that the "Gear Trac" itself is "not included."
What the holder does with the reel. YakAttack describes the Omega Pro as "a truly universal solution that works flawlessly with spinning, casting, larger conventional reels" and "even fly rods of all sizes," and says it "allows spinning reels to be stowed in the natural downward position, not hung off the side." The Pro version "adds an extension arm to help get your reel higher off the water or helps accommodate longer rod butts." That is the one placement principle a maker states outright: reel up, out of the water.
Placement (editorial). No maker page read for this guide says where on a kayak to put a rod holder. What follows is this site's own advice, labelled as such. A holder you fish from, for a trolled or dead-sticked rod, goes where you can reach the grip seated without turning your trunk, usually beside or just ahead of the hip. Holders that only carry rods go behind the seat, where a rod in transit is out of the paddle stroke and the reel sits above the splash. Before drilling anything, sit in the boat on the lawn with the paddle and swing a full stroke on both sides; a base that catches the shaft once will catch it every time. And on a rail, mount the base and fish a trip before you commit to a drilled position anywhere. The seated rod length those holders will carry is on rods and reels, which carries FishUSA's kayak band of 6'6" to 7'2".
Basis: official (Scotty, RAILBLAZA, YakAttack via Native Watercraft); placement editorial
Stopping the boat: anchor trolley, stake-out pole, drift sock
Three tools stop or slow a kayak, and they do different jobs. An anchor trolley does not hold the boat; it moves the point the anchor line pulls from, so the hull sits at the angle you want. A stake-out pole holds the boat in water shallow enough to reach bottom. A drift sock slows a wind drift. The makers describe the first two. The third, from the sources in front of us, is a wind tool, and the sentence about current below is this site's reasoning.
Anchor trolley
An anchor trolley is a loop of cord run along one side of the hull through a pulley near the bow and a pulley near the stern, with a ring on the loop; the anchor line, or the stake-out pole, passes through the ring, and pulling the loop slides the ring anywhere from bow to stern (editorial description; the makers below describe the effect, not the parts). Wilderness Systems describes its kit's purpose plainly: "This kit allows you to adjust the angle of your boat, allowing for optimal fishing positions regardless of wind or current direction." The kit "attaches via deck loops," "This installation requires drilling," and it "Includes mounting hardware & 40' of 1/4" nylon reflective static cord." It is "Compatible with 3 lb anchors," "suitable for use with most sit-on-top or sit-in kayaks," and its rings have "a 2" inner diameter" that "accommodate steak-out poles in shallow water" (Wilderness Systems' spelling).
YakAttack's LeverLoc Anchor Trolley, as listed by Native Watercraft, is "The first anchor trolley designed specifically for the job"; its clamp "locks your trolley line in place" with a flip of the lever, it "Includes 35' of USA made 550 paracord with a highly reflective tracer," and the HD version "gets you two extra PadHooks plus backing plates, enabling a heavy duty install when compared to the self-threading screws" of the standard kit. For a kayak where the pulley positions are out of reach from the hatch, YakAttack says "The use of a YakAttack Rigging Bullet, RB1032, is highly recommend for installs where the install location is out of arms reach."
So two makers agree on three things: the trolley is there to set the boat's angle to wind or current, the install drills the hull, and the ring is sized to take a stake-out pole as well as an anchor line. Neither page says where along the gunwale to set the pulleys, and neither gives an anchor weight beyond Wilderness Systems' 3 lb rating. An install walkthrough on a kayak maker's blog was located but could not be fetched for this page, so its placement advice is not used here.
Anchoring in current (editorial). This site's own rule, labelled as such: in moving water, run the ring all the way to the bow or all the way to the stern before the anchor bites, so the current meets the boat end-on, and never let the boat settle broadside to the flow on a tight line. Keep a knife clipped where your anchor hand can reach it. The 3 lb rating above is for the trolley's hardware; what weight actually holds on a given gravel bar is not published by anyone in front of us and is Status pending. On the Upper Salt River, where two low-head dams sit just below put-ins, the first anchoring decision is not which anchor; it is how far above the dam you are. The Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission's paddling guidance, which has no Kentucky equivalent on the KDFWR paddling page as of this writing, is "Never take your boat over a low-head dam" and, if you end up swimming, "in a current keep feet up on surface and swim to shore."
Stake-out pole
A stake-out pole is a shaft you push into the bottom and clip to the boat. YakAttack's ParkNPole 7'8" is "Used as a stakeout/push pole for kayaking," built with "a floating base, a fiberglass body, and a foot and tip that are UV stable and made of wear-resistant nylon," the "Foot for paddling" and the "Tip for staking into the ground," "7' 8" long," and "the perfect companion for fishing in shallow waters." YakAttack also sells a 6 ft version and a two-piece 8 ft Link; its track-mounted RotoGrip holder "is compatible with every length of YakAttack ParkNPole including the 6', 7' 8", and 8' Link," grips the shaft "between two soft rollers," is "Super low profile at 2.4" tall," and, like the rod holder, fits "YakAttack MightyMount's, GearTrac, and most other factory installed kayak track systems."
How deep a pole works is not stated by the maker. The pole's length sets the ceiling, less the part you need in the bottom and the part you need above the ring, and the bottom has to take the tip; nobody in front of us publishes a depth figure, so the practical limit is Status pending and you will find it the first time the tip skates on bedrock (editorial). Where it works, it is quiet and it has no line to cut (editorial).
Drift sock
A drift sock, or drift anchor, is a fabric cone towed from the boat to slow it. Lindy's Drift Control page says it "provides a convenient, simple and economical way to slow your drift or more-precisely follow breaklines or other fish-attracting structure when the wind kicks up," and that the design "resists spinning or tangling." Bass Pro's drift-sock guide (Justin Hoffman, 2019) gives the sizing rule, "the rule of thumb is to buy one to match the length of boat you run," and the one rigging rule that keeps the thing retrievable: a dump line is attached to the tail of the sock, a pull on it collapses the sock, and "ensure that your dump line is longer than the overall length of the tow rope and drift sock." Where you tie it sets the boat's angle, exactly as a trolley ring does: for a windblown shoreline, Bass Pro says "a drift sock should be attached to the rear corner of the windblown side" so the boat drifts parallel to the bank. A second Bass Pro piece, quoting Jon Thelen, has the mechanism: "By creating drag, a drift sock slows the boat and reduces bouncing in rough water."
Every one of those pages is about wind, and the first two are written for outboard boats. Thelen says socks "work in lakes and rivers," but says nothing about current. Lindy's size chart, which would give a kayak size, was not read, so the right sock size for a 10 to 13 ft kayak is Status pending.
When a sock replaces an anchor in current (editorial reasoning). A drift sock works by dragging through the water it sits in. That is why it slows a boat the wind is pushing across the surface: the hull moves faster than the water, and the sock resists. In current with no wind, the water itself is what is moving, and a sock drifting at the same speed as the water adds no drag, so it does not slow the boat relative to the bottom. The place a sock earns its tether on a river is a wide, slow pool with a crosswind, where it keeps the boat's drift honest and lets you fish a bank at the speed the current sets rather than the speed the wind sets. Where you need to actually stop in current, the two tools that do it are the anchor on a trolley and the stake-out pole. That paragraph is this site's reasoning from the makers' description of what a sock does, not a claim any maker makes.
Basis: official (Wilderness Systems, YakAttack via Native Watercraft, Lindy, Bass Pro); the current paragraphs editorial, labelled
Storage: crates, hatches and dry bags
Two kinds of storage ride a fishing kayak: a crate in the tank well, open to the weather, and sealed storage for what has to stay dry. The crate makers describe a shedding lid, not a waterproof one. The dry bag makers give a closure rule. The hull makers disagree about hatches, and that disagreement is printed under hull types below.
The crate. YakAttack's BlackPak Pro, as listed by Native Watercraft, is "Injection-molded from UV stabilized polymers," with "The water shedding lid with fully adjustable hinges" that can be set to pivot freely or hold position. Its rod holders are separate tubes: "The TetherTube rod holder mounts to the GridLoc panels using at least three of the four standoff pads." It comes in 13 by 13 in, and "two other sizes, 13" x 16" and a 16" x 16"." The fit note that saves a return: "When measuring your kayak's tankwell add 2.75" for every side you intend to attach TetherTubes." It ties down through "Omni corner brackets" that "enable multiple hold-down methods," including YakAttack's hooks, generic hooks, carabiners or bungee. The page does not use the word waterproof or water-resistant; "water shedding" is its claim, and a crate is where tackle trays and the pliers live, not where the phone does (editorial).
The dry bag. NRS's instructions are the clearest on the closure, and they contradict the word printed on most bags: "Fold, don't roll, the closure," because a fold "makes a sharper transition that more effectively blocks water entry." "You need to fold the top at least three times for a good seal," and "You can fold more times, the more the better." "If the bag allows it, fold down firmly against the bag's contents," clip it shut, and when stowing it "place it with the fold facing down, or away from wave action." NRS makes no submersion claim; its words are that a bag "if closed properly, can provide an excellent water-tight seal." SealLine's own closure instructions were located but could not be fetched for this page, so the number of folds other makers call for is Status pending; three is the one figure in front of us.
What goes where (editorial). Keys, phone and wallet go in a small dry bag inside a hatch, not in the crate; the hatch keeps the bag out of the sun and out of the way of the paddle, and the bag keeps the hatch's own seal from being the only thing between the phone and the creek. The spare spool and the leader material from line systems ride in the crate. Lures that rust ride in trays that drain.
Basis: official (YakAttack via Native Watercraft, NRS); what-goes-where editorial
What Kentucky requires aboard a kayak
Three items, from the regulation's own text. The regulation is 301 KAR 6:020, "Boating safety equipment," effective June 2, 2026, read October 18, 2026. Its authority is KRS 235.200, which requires that "Every vessel shall have aboard" the Coast Guard's prescribed flotation devices and, after dark, "such lights as prescribed by administrative regulations of the department." A kayak is a vessel: KRS 235.010 defines one as "every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane on the water." Kentucky's vessel classes come from 301 KAR 6:001: "Class A" is "vessels less than sixteen (16) feet in length," and "Class 1" is sixteen feet to under twenty-six. A kayak under sixteen feet is Class A, and two of the three rules below turn on that.
1. A wearable life jacket for each person
301 KAR 6:020 Section 4: "An operator of a Class A recreational vessel shall have on board for each person a minimum of one (1)" "wearable personal flotation device." For Class 1 and larger the rule adds a throwable, "Except for canoes or kayaks." Each device must be "Approved by the U.S. Coast Guard pursuant to 46 C.F.R. 25," "In good and serviceable condition," "Of appropriate size for the wearer," and "Readily accessible." The federal rule it points to, 46 CFR 25.25-5(b)(1), says a vessel under 40 feet not carrying passengers for hire "must have on board at least one wearable personal flotation device (PFD) approved under subchapter Q" "and of a suitable size for each person on board."
KDFWR's boating safety page states the same rule in plain words: "Kentucky law requires each boat occupant to have ready access to a Coast Guard-approved life jacket" "that properly fits each person," and its checklist line is "A Wearable Life Jacket is Available for Each Person On Board." The agency's May 15, 2026 safe-boating release repeats it and adds the advice: "Make wearing a life jacket a habit for the boat operator and passengers."
Children are a separate statute. KRS 235.203, effective July 14, 2000: "All persons under twelve (12) years of age in an open boat or on an open deck of a vessel being used for recreational purposes on the waters of this state shall wear a personal flotation device approved by the United States Coast Guard while the vessel is underway." A kayak is an open boat. KDFWR's page: "Children younger than 12 must always wear a lifejacket that fits them while in the open portion of a moving boat."
The law for an adult is carriage, not wear. On a kayak the two are the same thing (editorial): there is nowhere to stow a life jacket that is "readily accessible" from the water after a capsize, and the hull you would reach it from is upside down. Wear it, and clip the whistle to it.
2. A white light, carried and ready, between sunset and sunrise
301 KAR 6:020 Section 2, "Between actual sunset and sunrise": "An operator of a manually-powered vessel or sailboat less than twenty-two (22) feet, nine (9) inches in length shall:" "Carry aboard and have immediately available for use a white light of sufficient intensity" and "Display the white light in time to prevent a collision from an approaching vessel." Anchored in a channel is a separate rule: "A person operating or responsible for a vessel anchored in a normal navigation channel or passageway" "shall display a white light visible in a 360 degree arc." And the regulation forbids decoration that could be misread: "On a vessel under way between sunset and sunrise, an operator shall not display other lights" "which could be mistaken for the lights specified in this section." KDFWR's boating regulations page: "Manually propelled vessels shall carry a white light to display in sufficient time to avoid a collision," and "all vessels at anchor shall display a steady white light visible 360 degrees at all times."
The federal rule Kentucky's mirrors is Rule 25 of the Inland Navigation Rules, 33 CFR 83.25(d)(ii): "A vessel under oars may exhibit the lights prescribed in this Rule for sailing vessels, but if she does not," "she shall exhibit an all-round white light or have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted lantern" "showing a white light which shall be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision."
So a paddle kayak is not required to show running lights. It is required to carry a white light and to show it when another boat approaches. A pole-mounted all-round white light satisfies the anchored-in-a-channel rule and the under-way rule at once; a headlamp satisfies the under-way rule only if it is on your head and you turn it toward the oncoming boat (editorial reading of the text above). KDFWR's boat-safety checklist lists "Red, Green, and a 360-degree White Light" as lights to have installed; that checklist is written for boats generally, and the regulation's manually-powered-vessel section is what applies to a kayak.
3. A sound signal, and which rule it comes from
This is where the brief for this page and the regulation's text part company, and the text wins. 301 KAR 6:020 Section 3: "An operator of a Class 1 or larger vessel shall have on board a hand-, mouth-, or power-operated signaling device:" "Capable of producing a blast of two (2) seconds duration," audible "One-half (1/2) mile for Class 1 vessels." KDFWR's regulations page says the same: "all boats 16 feet in length or longer must have a hand-, mouth- or power-operated signaling device." A kayak under 16 feet is Class A, and the state's own two-second-blast rule does not name it.
The regulation then adds: "Nothing in this administrative regulation shall exempt a vessel from additional sound devices" "required by the U.S. Coast Guard pursuant to 33 C.F.R. 83." That is the Inland Navigation Rules, and Rule 33(b), 33 CFR 83.33, covers every vessel under 12 m, which is every kayak: "A vessel of less than 12 meters in length shall not be obliged to carry the sound signaling appliances" "prescribed in paragraph (a) of this Rule but if she does not, she shall be provided with some other means" "of making an efficient sound signal." KDFWR's boat-safety checklist, written for all boats, says "Have a Horn or Whistle."
Whether the Inland Rules apply on a particular Kentucky creek is a question of whether that water is federally navigable, which this page does not determine and marks Status pending for any specific water. What is not pending is the practical answer: a whistle on the life jacket's zipper pull satisfies Rule 33(b) wherever it applies, satisfies the KDFWR checklist, weighs nothing and is the thing you will actually be able to use with one hand on an overturned hull (editorial).
What the law does not require
Nothing in 301 KAR 6:020 requires a paddle kayak to carry a throwable device (the canoe-or-kayak exception above), a fire extinguisher, a flare or a registration number. The regulation names "Manually propelled racing vessels" and "Sailboards" as exempt from the PFD rule entirely; a fishing kayak is neither, and 301 KAR 6:001 defines a manually propelled racing vessel as one "not carrying or having been designed to carry equipment, except that which is solely for competitive racing."
Basis: official (301 KAR 6:020 eff. 6-2-2026; 301 KAR 6:001 eff. 6-2-2026; KRS 235.010, 235.200, 235.203; 33 CFR 83.25 and 83.33; 46 CFR 25.25-5; KDFWR boat safety and boating regulations pages; KDFWR release of 15 May 2026); the wear-it and headlamp sentences editorial, labelled
Registration: a paddle kayak is not a motorboat
Kentucky registers motorboats, and a kayak you paddle or pedal is not one. KRS 235.040: "Every motorboat on the waters of this state shall be numbered and currently registered in accordance with the provisions of this chapter." KRS 235.010(2) defines the word: "'Motorboat' means any vessel propelled by machinery, whether or not such machinery is the principal source of propulsion, except for the following:" and the second exception is "(b) Boats propelled by human power employing the use of hand or foot operation." A paddle is hand operation and a pedal drive is foot operation (this page's reading of those words). KDFWR's boating regulations page puts it the same way from the other side: "All mechanically powered vessels used primarily in this state must have a Kentucky registration."
Two consequences follow from the statute's own words. First, a trolling motor changes the answer: the definition catches a vessel "propelled by machinery, whether or not such machinery is the principal source of propulsion," so a kayak with an electric motor clamped on is a motorboat and is registered, with the one exception in (2)(a) for "Boats or vessels propelled totally by a direct current battery-powered motor when used on private waters." Second, there is no paddlecraft registration or permit in the chapter; the exemption list in KRS 235.210 is a list of motorboats that need not be numbered, and a paddle kayak never enters it because it is not a motorboat to begin with. The KDFWR release of May 15, 2026 adds the renewal date for those who do register: "Kentucky boat registrations expire April 30 each year."
Neither the statute nor the agency page read for this guide says the words "kayaks do not need to be registered." What they say is that only motorboats do, and what a motorboat is. That is the whole of the evidence, and it is enough.
Basis: official (KRS 235.010 eff. 4-13-2022; KRS 235.040 eff. 6-17-1978; KRS 235.210 eff. 7-15-1980; KDFWR boating regulations page; KDFWR release of 15 May 2026)
Sit-on-top or sit-inside
Fishing kayaks are almost all sit-on-tops, and the one maker whose comparison was readable for this page says so and gives the reasons. Point 65 (dated June 27, 2026): "Fishing kayaks are almost always sit-on-top designs." On stability, "Most sit-on-top designs have a wide, flat hull that gives excellent primary stability," while a sit-inside offers "More secondary stability." On the capsize, which is the fishing reason: "If you capsize, you simply right the kayak and climb back on - no wet exit required, no learning to roll." On weather, sit-on-top kayaks are "open designs - there's no cockpit trapping heat," and "the occasional splash or spray is actually welcome" in warm weather; in a sit-inside with a spray skirt you are "significantly more protected from cold water, wind, and spray," and the skirt "keeps you warm and dry in conditions that would leave a sit-on-top paddler soaked." On speed, "Sit-in kayaks are generally narrower than sit-on-tops, which means they're faster through the water and track more efficiently."
The storage trade-off is the one that bears on rigging. Point 65: sit-insides "typically have sealed bow and stern compartments that keep gear genuinely dry," and of sit-on-top hatches, "they're less reliably watertight under sustained splash." That is one maker's view of its own range, and it is why the dry bag section above puts the phone in a bag inside the hatch rather than trusting the hatch.
Old Town's and Perception's category pages were fetched for this guide and returned no readable text, so their stated trade-offs are Status pending; Wilderness Systems' trolley kit is the one piece of cross-hull evidence here, rated for "most sit-on-top or sit-in kayaks." Every rod-holder and trolley install above drills a hull or rides a track, and both hull types take both; the difference is that a sit-inside's cockpit rim and sealed bulkheads leave less deck to drill and no tank well for a crate (editorial).
Basis: official (Point 65; Wilderness Systems); the last sentence editorial
A rigging order for a first season (editorial)
Each line is this site's own sequence, built on the maker statements above.
- Life jacket, whistle, light. Before any hardware. The law section gives the texts; a whistle on the zipper and a pole light in the crate cover a Kentucky kayak after dark.
- One track-mounted rod holder beside the hip. Drills nothing (Scotty 438, YakAttack LockNLoad), moves while you learn where you want it, and holds the seated rod from rods and reels.
- A crate in the tank well. Measure the well, add 2.75 in per side for tubes (YakAttack), bungee it through the corner brackets.
- A small dry bag in the hatch. Folded three times, fold down (NRS).
- A stake-out pole before an anchor. No line, no trolley, no drilling; wherever the bottom is within reach of 7'8" of fiberglass, on a creek like Elkhorn or anywhere else, it is the simplest stop there is.
- The anchor trolley last, when you know which side you cast from, because the install drills the hull (Wilderness Systems) and the pulleys do not move afterwards.
The knots that hold the anchor line to the ring and the pole leash to the clip are the same ones that hold a lure: the Palomar for a loop through a ring, and the uni where two cords of different diameter meet.
What we don't know yet
- Where to place rod holders and trolley pulleys. No maker page read for this guide states a position. The placement advice above is editorial.
- Scotty's cut-hole size for the 344 flush mount. On a Scotty specs sheet not read here. Status pending.
- Anchor weight that holds on Kentucky gravel. Wilderness Systems rates its trolley for 3 lb anchors; no source gives a holding figure. Status pending.
- Stake-out pole working depth. YakAttack gives lengths, not depths. Status pending.
- Drift sock size for a kayak. Bass Pro's rule is "match the length of boat you run"; Lindy's size chart was not read. Status pending.
- Whether a drift sock does anything in pure current. No maker says. The paragraph above is labelled reasoning.
- Whether the Inland Navigation Rules apply on a given Kentucky creek. Turns on federal navigability, not determined here. Status pending per water.
- Old Town's and Perception's stated hull trade-offs. Their pages returned no text. Status pending.
- SealLine's fold count and the Jackson Kayak trolley install walkthrough. Both located, both refused the fetch. Not used.
- The KDFWR "Boating Laws and Regulations" page returned 404 on October 18, 2026. The agency's boat safety page and its regulations summary page were used instead.
Sources and how confident we are
How confident we are
| Claim | Confidence |
|---|---|
| Scotty flush and side mounts, well-nut compatibility | Official (Scotty product pages) |
| RAILBLAZA StarPort deck or flush, optional gasket | Official (RAILBLAZA product page); install sheet not read |
| Track mounts fit "all kayak track systems" | Scotty's and YakAttack's own claims about their own adapters |
| Omega Pro extension arm lifts the reel off the water | Official (YakAttack via Native Watercraft) |
| Rod holder placement | Editorial, labelled |
| Anchor trolley purpose, drilling, 3 lb rating, 2 in ring | Official (Wilderness Systems; YakAttack via Native Watercraft) |
| Anchoring from bow or stern in current | Editorial, labelled; no maker page states it |
| Low-head dam and swim-in-current guidance | Official (Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission); KDFWR's paddling page has no equivalent |
| Stake-out pole construction and lengths | Official (YakAttack) |
| Drift sock purpose, sizing rule, dump line, rear-corner tie | Official (Lindy; Bass Pro, Hoffman 2019; Bass Pro, Thelen 2019); written for wind |
| A sock does not hold in current | Editorial reasoning, labelled |
| BlackPak Pro lid, tubes, sizes, 2.75 in rule | Official (YakAttack via Native Watercraft); page makes no waterproof claim |
| Dry bag: fold, three times, fold down | Official (NRS), one maker |
| One wearable PFD per person, Coast Guard approved, readily accessible | Official (301 KAR 6:020 eff. 6-2-2026; 46 CFR 25.25-5; KDFWR) |
| Under-12 must wear | Official (KRS 235.203; KDFWR) |
| Adults: carriage, not wear | Official reading of the texts; "wear it" is editorial |
| White light carried and ready; 360 light at anchor in a channel | Official (301 KAR 6:020 Section 2; 33 CFR 83.25(d)(ii); KDFWR) |
| Two-second-blast device is Class 1 and up, not Class A | Official (301 KAR 6:020 Section 3; 301 KAR 6:001; KDFWR regulations page) |
| Rule 33(b) covers every vessel under 12 m | Official (33 CFR 83.33); applicability to a specific water pending |
| Paddle and pedal kayaks are not motorboats; a motor makes one | Official (KRS 235.010(2); KRS 235.040; KDFWR regulations page) |
| Sit-on-top versus sit-inside trade-offs | One maker (Point 65, 27 June 2026); Old Town and Perception pending |
| The rigging order | Editorial |
Sources
- 301 KAR 6:020 Boating safety equipment — Kentucky Legislative Research Commission — PFD, light and sound-device text; effective 6-2-2026; relates to KRS 235.205, 33 CFR 83, 46 CFR 25.
- 301 KAR 6:001 Definitions for 301 KAR Chapter 6 — Kentucky LRC — Class A and Class 1 definitions; PFD, wearable and throwable definitions; manually propelled racing vessel; effective 6-2-2026.
- 301 KAR Chapter 6 index — Kentucky LRC — the chapter's current regulations.
- KRS 235.010 Definitions for chapter — Kentucky LRC — vessel; motorboat and its human-power exception; effective 4-13-2022.
- KRS 235.040 Requirement that motorboats be registered and numbered — Kentucky LRC — effective 6-17-1978.
- KRS 235.200 Required equipment — Kentucky LRC — every vessel carries Coast Guard PFDs and, after dark, the department's prescribed lights; effective 7-15-1998.
- KRS 235.203 Flotation device for child under twelve — Kentucky LRC — effective 7-14-2000.
- KRS 235.210 Boats exempt from registration requirement — Kentucky LRC — a list of motorboats; effective 7-15-1980.
- KRS Chapter 235 index — Kentucky LRC — section list; page states enactments through the 2026 Regular Session, updated 10/18/2026.
- Boating Safety — Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources — ready-access life jacket rule; under-12 rule; horn-or-whistle and lights checklist; undated.
- Boating regulations summary — KDFWR Fishing and Boating Guide — PFD per person; throwable on 16 ft and over except canoes and kayaks; signaling device on 16 ft and longer; manually propelled vessels carry a white light; mechanically powered vessels register; undated.
- Kentucky Fish and Wildlife encourages safe summer boating — KDFWR, May 15, 2026 — ready-access rule; under-12 rule; registrations expire April 30.
- Canoe and Kayak Access — KDFWR — read for paddling safety text; contains none; links a paddle-sports safety course.
- 33 CFR 83.25 Sailing vessels underway and vessels under oars (Rule 25) — via Cornell LII — paragraph (d)(ii), the white light for a vessel under oars.
- 33 CFR 83.33 Equipment for sound signals (Rule 33) — via Cornell LII — paragraph (b), vessels under 12 m.
- 46 CFR 25.25-5 Life preservers and other lifesaving equipment required — via Cornell LII — one approved wearable PFD of suitable size per person on vessels under 40 ft.
- Paddlesports Safety — Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission — low-head dams; feet up and swim to shore; wear a life jacket and have a whistle.
- 344 Round Flush Deck Mount — Scotty — sealed base for kayak decks; splash cover; all post-mount rod holders; dimensions.
- 241L Locking Side Deck Mount — Scotty — flat surface or side of gunnel; lock-down; well nuts, not rivets.
- 438 Gear-Head Track Adapter — Scotty — slides into any kayak track; no drilling.
- StarPort — RAILBLAZA — deck or flush mount; optional gasket; what it holds.
- YakAttack Omega Pro Rod Holder — Native Watercraft — reel types; spinning reel stowed downward; extension arm; LockNLoad modes; track compatibility.
- YakAttack LeverLoc Anchor Trolley HD — Native Watercraft — lever clamp; 35 ft paracord; HD backing plates; Rigging Bullet for out-of-reach installs.
- Anchor Trolley Kit — Wilderness Systems — adjusts boat angle to wind or current; requires drilling; 40 ft cord; 2 in rings for stake-out poles; 3 lb anchors; sit-on-top or sit-in.
- ParkNPole 7'8" — YakAttack — stakeout and push pole; floating base; fiberglass; nylon foot and tip; length.
- YakAttack ParkNPole RotoGrip — Native Watercraft — track-mounted pole holder; fits the 6 ft, 7'8" and 8 ft Link; 2.4 in tall.
- YakAttack BlackPak Pro 13 x 13 — Native Watercraft — construction; water shedding lid; TetherTubes; 2.75 in per side; corner brackets; sizes.
- Drift Control Fisherman Series — Lindy (Lurenet) — slows your drift when the wind kicks up; resists spinning.
- Boat Control Guide: Buying and Using Drift Socks — Bass Pro Shops 1Source (Justin Hoffman, 2019) — match boat length; dump line longer than tow rope plus sock; rear corner of the windblown side.
- Beat the Wind Using a Driftsock — Bass Pro Shops 1Source (Daniel Quade with Jon Thelen, 2019) — drag slows the boat; lakes and rivers.
- How to Seal an NRS Dry Bag — NRS — fold, not roll; at least three folds; fold down against contents; stow fold-down.
- Sit-on-top vs Sit-in Kayak: Which is Right for You? — Point 65 (June 27, 2026) — stability, capsize, weather, speed, sealed compartments versus hatches; fishing kayaks almost always sit-on-top.